Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 75

Thread: Should I buy a new computer for Trading?

      
  1. #1
    Will Work For Pips Wookie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Should I buy a new computer for Trading?

    You see... I have this 2 year old set up, AMD dual core 4400, 4gb ram, rapter drive, alot of extras, but it seems to be getting slow, my charts sometimes crash and I can't even play games on it anymore I haven't blown off steam with a cool game since Christmas!

    What do you recommend?

  2. #2
    My Charts Talk To Me ACE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    atl/georgia
    Posts
    600
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    depends how much you make trading in return...


    The superior person uses his mind like a mirror: it accepts all, it reflects all. It recieves, but it does not keep.
    Chuang Tzu

  3. #3
    My Pip Hand Is Weak
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    9
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    yes...spoil yourself with a top of the line badboy and save your current one for games....or

    reload windows and all your programs like I did...computer same as new...I clean it regularly using Cyberscrub to delete all the nonsense, use sandboxie so my hard drive isn't filled to the brim with gif's, and utilize all the cool functions on Firefox...computer is still work fast after these little things...

    Besides - you could always use a new monitor in your setup - no?

  4. #4
    Too Cool For School
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Trenton NJ
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    my question is, if you have muliple monitors, you'll need multiple video cards, but at what point does it become too much for your system to handle?

  5. #5
    Show Me The Money!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Cincinatti, OH
    Posts
    76
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    i think you should just go for it, your box is outdated now

  6. #6
    Will Work For Pips
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    bought a dell xps 720 a few months bcak, working great helped my trading significantly

  7. #7
    Administrator Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    North Jersey
    Age
    39
    Posts
    3,976
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Capri, just started to lease a new Dell XPS630 customized for me, but, unfortunately, I have to wait until the 30th to receive it.

  8. #8
    Hindsight Hero! DickP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    4,019
    Rep Power
    37

    Default

    Damn Mike, that's the worst feeling knowing you got something really cool out there coming to you.



    "I came to make pips and chew bubble gum...damn, I'm all out of gum..."
    -DickP, 2011

  9. #9
    Administrator Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    North Jersey
    Age
    39
    Posts
    3,976
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    GREAT NEWS EVERYBODY! My dell is coming tomorrow, their preliminary ship date is for Bollux, went out yesterday, hooray!

  10. #10
    Will Work For Pips 8mm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    40
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    nice to hear mike! let us know how it runs

  11. #11
    Will Work For Pips
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    def upgrade, 4400 is outdated years ago

  12. #12
    Hindsight Hero! DickP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    4,019
    Rep Power
    37

    Default

    I got a new comuter the other day as well, homebuilt beauty



    "I came to make pips and chew bubble gum...damn, I'm all out of gum..."
    -DickP, 2011

  13. #13
    I Breathe Pips Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    891
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    You don't need a beast of a computer. Just good memory, and a good amount of it too...

  14. #14
    Will Work For Pips 8mm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    40
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Yes, I agree Jones.. MT4 takes up a lot of memory when you add more and more charts

  15. #15
    Pippier Than Thou! Sully's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    307
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    I'm talking to you from an APPLE IIGS, and what beyatches

  16. #16
    Administrator Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    North Jersey
    Age
    39
    Posts
    3,976
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sully View Post
    I'm talking to you from an APPLE IIGS, and what beyatches

    Simply impossible Sully.

  17. #17
    Administrator BigE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    396
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    Simply impossible Sully.
    LOL, can't you take a joke?
    www.eandestudios.com
    Web Design, Online Marketing, Photography, Videography

    www.23hourwebhosting.com
    web hosting

  18. #18
    Pippier Than Thou! Sully's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    307
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    Simply impossible Sully.
    Whyimpossibl? Anything is possibl withcomputrs

  19. #19
    Administrator BigE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    396
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    THIS THREAD HAS BEEN RESURRECTED

    www.eandestudios.com
    Web Design, Online Marketing, Photography, Videography

    www.23hourwebhosting.com
    web hosting

  20. #20
    Show Me The Money!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    57
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    AMD really bites

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •