Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Trading Forex: PC or MAC?

      
  1. #1
    My Pip Hand Is Weak
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    12
    Rep Power
    0

    Short Trading Forex: PC or MAC?

    Who uses what, and what's better for trading, PC or MAC?



  2. #2
    Hindsight Hero! DickP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    4,019
    Rep Power
    38

    Default Re: Trading Forex: PC or MAC?

    PC all the way man. What more than apps can you possibly run on an Ipad or Imac or Mac OS?

    MT4 is for both potentially but its a dumbed down version if I remember correctly. Whatever the case may be, its whatever your comfortable on, I just think your probably missing out on some things not available for Mac.



    "I came to make pips and chew bubble gum...damn, I'm all out of gum..."
    -DickP, 2011

  3. #3
    Pips Are My Game
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    100
    Rep Power
    13

    Default Re: Trading Forex: PC or MAC?

    Quote Originally Posted by DickP View Post
    PC all the way man. What more than apps can you possibly run on an Ipad or Imac or Mac OS?

    MT4 is for both potentially but its a dumbed down version if I remember correctly. Whatever the case may be, its whatever your comfortable on, I just think your probably missing out on some things not available for Mac.
    Absolutely. PC all the way. It never fails that I run into an Apple user that says, "I wish I could play/run that game/program, but Apple says they'll have a program similar out soon for my Mac."

  4. #4
    Show Me The Money! Duffy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    51
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: Trading Forex: PC or MAC?

    Hey check this out, cracks me the FFFFF up.

    http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/...76O02K20110725

    FAKE APPLE STORES! Someone at the factory HAD to be in on this for them to turn a profit.

    Did they expect the company not to find out?
    Facism = Business Control of Government

  5. #5
    Pips Are My Game Sel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    151
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Trading Forex: PC or MAC?

    PC here.

  6. #6
    Pips Are My Game
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    100
    Rep Power
    13

    Default Re: Trading Forex: PC or MAC?

    Quote Originally Posted by Duffy View Post
    Hey check this out, cracks me the FFFFF up.

    http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/...76O02K20110725

    FAKE APPLE STORES! Someone at the factory HAD to be in on this for them to turn a profit.

    Did they expect the company not to find out?
    That's ridiculous/hilarious! Jeez! The b*lls on those guys! Interesting read, though.. lol

  7. #7
    Pips Are My Game
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    103
    Rep Power
    13

    Default Re: Trading Forex: PC or MAC?

    pc only here

  8. #8
    I am Part Pips sniper012's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,374
    Rep Power
    29

    Default Re: Trading Forex: PC or MAC?

    I'm torn. I have a mac but you've gotta install windows on it to run most trading platforms. When you turn your computer on, hold down the option button and you have the choice of using either the mac or windows operating system. Most people I know with pc's have had issues with having to get them repaired and so on. I've had my mac for about 5-6 years and I have never had even 1 issue with it. Keep in mind that I'm on my computer for at least 4 hours every day except maybe saturday.

    Pippin ain't easy, but it sho' is fun!

  9. #9
    Pips Are My Game
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    100
    Rep Power
    13

    Default Re: Trading Forex: PC or MAC?

    Hey sniper, that's one thing about the mac that I guess is better about the PC, it's really about personal preference I guess... PC for me.

  10. #10
    Pips Are My Game Dannyfx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    177
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Trading Forex: PC or MAC?

    For trading... PC, for everything else, Mac.

  11. #11
    Pippier Than Thou! Arief Makmur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    294
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: Trading Forex: PC or MAC?

    Because I trade with a Metatrader.4 software; I just used PC (OS: Windows) only Not MAC from Apple's.

  12. #12
    I Breathe Pips
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    812
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Trading Forex: PC or MAC?

    PC is my first choice to trade forex. There are number of forex trading software, platforms, tools and all most all support PC.
    http://www.fx-insights.com

  13. #13
    I Don't Post Much
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Age
    40
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Trading Forex: PC or MAC?

    Definitely PC because lot's of trading software is not MAC compatible.

    BTW, can anybody share experience of using a screen adapter. Right now i have two screens (one graphic card) but i am thinking about to add another screen and my graphic card does not support three screens. Adapters seem to be a economic solution but as i have no experience with, some advice would be helpful.

    Thank you very much in advance!

  14. #14
    Hindsight Hero! DickP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    4,019
    Rep Power
    38

    Default Re: Trading Forex: PC or MAC?

    Yea, Mac is shooting themselves in the foot with anyone in the trading industry.



    "I came to make pips and chew bubble gum...damn, I'm all out of gum..."
    -DickP, 2011

  15. #15
    Hindsight Hero! DickP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    4,019
    Rep Power
    38

    Default Re: Trading Forex: PC or MAC?

    Quote Originally Posted by TamTam View Post
    Definitely PC because lot's of trading software is not MAC compatible.

    BTW, can anybody share experience of using a screen adapter. Right now i have two screens (one graphic card) but i am thinking about to add another screen and my graphic card does not support three screens. Adapters seem to be a economic solution but as i have no experience with, some advice would be helpful.

    Thank you very much in advance!
    I think Mike would have some good advice for you, he ran like 13 monitors on 2 machines at one point. He hasn't been on in a long time though. PM him or something dude.



    "I came to make pips and chew bubble gum...damn, I'm all out of gum..."
    -DickP, 2011

  16. #16
    My Charts Talk To Me ACE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    atl/georgia
    Posts
    600
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Trading Forex: PC or MAC?

    macs are for faggy men


    The superior person uses his mind like a mirror: it accepts all, it reflects all. It recieves, but it does not keep.
    Chuang Tzu

  17. #17
    My Pip Hand Is Weak Swiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    North Zurich
    Age
    51
    Posts
    10
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Trading Forex: PC or MAC?

    Quote Originally Posted by TamTam View Post
    Definitely PC because lot's of trading software is not MAC compatible.

    BTW, can anybody share experience of using a screen adapter. Right now i have two screens (one graphic card) but i am thinking about to add another screen and my graphic card does not support three screens. Adapters seem to be a economic solution but as i have no experience with, some advice would be helpful.

    Thank you very much in advance!
    are you talking USB? 'the external graphics card from like Pluggable? NOW they are almost flawless becase of Usb3.0.
    2.0 can sometimes be sluggihs but actully fine for semistatic xtra charts which is what you want. Usb3.0 upgrade cards can get for Swiss 35. Then pluggable is 50. So 80 to 90 will be suit for 1 xtra montor

    Or go Matrox head2head if cash no problem

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •